Open reviewing process

Travels in education: Towards Waldorf 2.0

Picture of Neil Boland
Travels in education: Towards Waldorf 2.0
by Neil Boland - Tuesday, 6 June 2017, 3:15 AM

In this paper, I have tried to document a values-based process involving culture, society and contemporaneity in Steiner Waldorf education. Using an action research model, it works through cycles which expand gradually from personal reflection to international discussion. The process is of its nature unfinished; this is a record of the first seven years.

I would welcome any comments to improve its quality.

With thanks and best wishes,

Neil

Picture of Pip Bruce Ferguson
Re: Travels in education: Towards Waldorf 2.0
by Pip Bruce Ferguson - Wednesday, 7 June 2017, 4:13 AM

Dear Neil

I read this paper with great interest. While I studied Steiner education decades back during my own teacher training, I was unfamiliar with the calls to 'update' it and hope in your next iteration you can include in your refs URLs that will let your readers access your recent writings in this area.

There are several ways I think you can strengthen this very interesting paper. Your work shows aspects of values I think you've skipped over (e.g. I identify integrity and various variations of that in a couple of places) and while early on, you recognise the possibility of being a living contradiction, you don't emphasise this overtly subsequently. Yet it is evident that the courage you needed to challenge 'exclusive' interpretations of Steiner's educational ideas are evidence that you did recognise that you were placed in a position of being a living contradiction, and that you did what you could to resolve the situation.